The junction of Steep Street and Trenchard Street, Bristol, 1866. John Hill Morgan (b 1833), platinum print. This view was recorded five years before Steep Street, curving away to the left, was demolished and replaced by a realigned road, Colston Street. Steep Street existed in the medieval period when it was the main road from the centre of Bristol to Gloucester.
Unique pictures show Bristol before much of its centre was bombed
These fascinating pictures are some of the first ever taken of the city of Bristol. They were taken between 1850 and 1855 by photographer Hugh Owen and could fetch up to £30,000 at auction.
ancient road Steep Street Bristol
The original route between St Michael's Hill and the Frome Bridge was Steep Street. Although this street was a narrow, muddy and steep lane it was the main route into Bristol from Wales. Between 1868 and 1871 this area was completely redeveloped, Perry Road was created at the bottom of St Michael's Hill and Colston Street was created to replace Steep Street. The shop window in the centre of the picture on the right contains a sign reading “hair bought”: presumably one of the options for the…
1913 Wine Street Hodder's the chemist Bristol
A view of Hodder's the chemist Wine Street 1913. If you fell sick, in the Victorian period, you were more likely to go to a chemist or druggist than a doctor: the Victorians were huge consumers of patent remedies. One of the chemists they would have patronised was Hodder's, who had six branches in the city. The firm was started in the 1840s. The firm began trading in Wine Street, but since the port played an important part in its trade, it moved to Broad Quay in 1864. The company made a good…
St Johns Gate, Bristol 1931
St John's Gate, Broad Street, Bristol BS1 which stands at the bottom of the street, is the last remaining part of the city wall, with Church of St John the Baptist built above it. The two side passages were created in the 1820s. Niches in the wall contain the figures Brennus and Belinus, according to legend they founded the city. Nearby St John's Conduit was originally built for the friary of the Carmelites but also supplied the people of Brandon Hill. The parishioners were allowed to use…
Old City Heritage Trail
A circular walk around the Old City of Bristol The "Walled City Walk" follows the town walls of Norman Bristol. With the walls no longer visible, their route is little understood or used, and the rich architectural heritage of the Old City often goes unnoticed.
Banksy Graffiti The Girl with the Pierced Eardrum
The Girl with a Pierced Eardrum depicts a take on Vermeer’s famous Girl with a Pearl Earring, replacing the girl’s earring with an outdoor security alarm.